Looking Back In 2016

The first day of 2016 was great when I won some money from a scratch-off Lottery ticket, but then everything went downhill from there. My acting career for this year was fair at best as In didn’t do much. The only things I did were the Baywatch movie with the Rock and a couple of web TV series, Saudade and Duels. In Saudade I got to interact with the creator, director, and writer this time around than I ever did last year and it was interesting shooting at her house. In Duels, it was my first experience with firepower on set and I was used a lot. It was also my correction of one of the shoots I did last year as they were shot in Downtown Miami, where I had a minor car accident that ruined 2015 for me. After Duels, I had to take care of personal business.

We finally did the re-roofing project with a company as the permit we kept renewing and extending for the last four years has finally paid off. My family and I got to do some long-overdue projects at home such as cutting down several trees and dumping out lots of unwanted stuff.

There were deaths of several people who were part of my life such as my former longtime agent, Joyce Gilbert, and a couple of my classmates from Design and Architecture Senior High school named Victor Leong and Carlos Carles. Joyce’s passing hit me hardest as I had a great working relationship with her from 1997 up until her departure from Martin and Donalds Talent Agency in 2014. She was the first person who signed me to the agency as I attended castings and booked several jobs over the years with her. As I’ve said in my tribute to her, I wouldn’t have an acting career without her and I thank her for all she’s done for me as an actor as I embark on the next chapter.

Victor Leong was highly skilled in making boats from possibly before high school until his passing. A one of a kind who will never be duplicated. My condolences to his sisters, Kathleen and Zonnia. Carlos Carles is an original member of the Class of 1995 who attended DASH for four years like I have and remained the same. He never changed his hairstyle as I felt he was the Dick Clark of our class. Victor and Carlos will be missed by the DASH alumni.

I got to buy many of the things I wanted to buy and I opened up several more bank accounts to help me set for life. I also became addicted to the video game Star Wars Old Republic. 2016 was a good year for me financially, but not in terms of a personal level or career level.

Leave a Reply

